ICSAZ: An esteemed body


The Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators was originally founded in England in October 1891 and was known as the Institute of Secretaries.

In 1902 it was granted its Royal Charter and became the Chartered Institute of Secretaries. The name has since been changed to the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators in order to describe the status and capabilities of the members in detail.


In 1909 the first branch to be established outside UK was formed in South Africa and in 1957 it became the Southern Africa division.

Zimbabwe was part of the Southern Africa division until January 1992, when it was granted its autonomy as an independent territory with a seat on the international council.

Today, there are divisions in South Africa, Nigeria, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore and Zimbabwe.

The Institute in Zimbabwe was incorporated on January 1, 1971 by an Act of Parliament through the Chartered Secretaries (Pvt) Act, which generally prescribes the operations of the Institute in Zimbabwe, status of its members, relationship with Government and world at large.

The local incorporation does not affect the membership status of the Zimbabwe Chartered Secretary.

The examination standards and the criteria for membership are the same as those that apply elsewhere in the world. Accordingly, success in the Zimbabwe Institute examinations is widely recognised and membership of this Institute confers simultaneous membership of the international body.